Welcome to Bone Fire!  I intend for this to be a place where I share my thoughts.  That insures this will be, at times, both inane and sublime.  Hopefully, this will be a place for your thoughts as well.  Why “Bone Fire!”?  Sounds like it might be about pirates or something?

“Bone Fire!” is drawn from Jeremiah 20:9 “But if I say, “I will not mention him or speak any more in his

name,” his word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.” (NIV).  I can relate to what the prophet is sharing here.  I sometimes love and sometimes resist God’s influence in my life.  Sometimes I can’t help talking about God’s impact and presence in my life.  At other times, I’m frozen with fear, weakness, embarrassment, selfishness and my tongue is glued to the roof of my mouth.  This is true for all the paths I tread as a husband, dad, friend, employee, etc. 

I have been on the fence about beginning a blog.  Since you’re reading this, I have given in to the “Indeed, I cannot” from above.

I have been married to my best friend Laura for eleven years so far.  She is my complement in all senses of the word.  I have a daughter, almost 6, who we got the old fashion way and a son, 4, who we adopted from India.  I have an apple for each eye.  They are a constant source of fun, frustration and all points in between.  I work as a minister for a church in Little Rock, Arkansas, USA and in public relations for a national nonprofit.  I am blind and have a Seeing Eye dog named P.J.  This may make you curious on its own.  Many people have never known a blind person.  They’ve only seen them in the wild.  Get to know me and the mystique will be shattered, I assure you.  God has blessed me with friends and acquaintances from many different backgrounds.  I hope this is another way to fan all these relationships into flame and to ignite new conversations and friendships.

For the days I want to extinguish the fire burning in those spaces in my bones…  For the days I’m content to let it glow like a nice camp fire: warm my face and hands, you know…  And for the moments where it burns white hot, this is why I want to write “Bone Fire!”  So you and I can find those moments more often and stay there longer.

I will do my best to make this a place where we can throw kerosene on our collective fires.  The world around us all can be cold, with a chilling wind plucking and puffing at our fires in hopes another light will go dark.  But no matter what circumstance you find yourself in when you read these words, know this: “Our God is a consuming fire.” Hebrews 11:29.

Whether you read, lurk or comment, my prayer for you is this God will light a fire in you that will warm the days and nights to come for you, yours and those around you.  But for the record, I hope you’ll read and you’ll comment.

